Karsh Signature

Yousuf Karsh, master photographer of the 20th century

Nobel Peace Prize

Nelson Mandela, 1990

On October 16, in 1993, Nelson Mandela and F.W. de Klerk were jointly named Nobel Peace Prize winners. De Klerk served as State President of South Africa from 1989 to 1994, freeing Mandela in 1990; and as Deputy President from 1994 to 1996. As South Africa’s last head of state from the era of white-minority rule, he and his government dismantled the apartheid system and introduced universal suffrage.

Karsh photographed several Nobel laureates, among them Desmond Tutu, Linus Pauling, and of course, Albert Schweitzer. See more.