Karsh Signature

Yousuf Karsh, master photographer of the 20th century

Diego Galbadon, Elizabeth LaPides and Nolan Weinschenk are the 2019 Karsh Prize Winners

L to R: The jury: Angela Owens, photo editor, the Wall Street Journal; Jerry Fielder, director, the Estate of Yousuf Karsh; Ann Shumard, senior curator of photographs, the National Portrait Gallery.  The winners: Diego Galbadon, Elizabeth LaPides, Nolan Weinschenk

The 22nd annual Karsh Prize for photography students of the School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, was awarded last month. The winning artist was Diego Galbadon for his series “submerge”, seen in the background above, with second place going to Elizabeth LaPides for her series on pollution, and third to Nolan Weinschenk for his hip hop and pop culture project.

With their prize-winning photographs on display, the winning students are presented their awards (including a stipend to develop their work) at an event which includes a dialogue between the young artists and jury members about the students’ inspiration, working method, and philosophies. Each artist contributes a print to a portfolio which will provide a record of the early work of these emerging photographers and records trends in photography.